Hymn 77

By Isaac Watts

(The love of Christ for the church, in his language to her, and provisions for her. (Song of Sol. 8:5-13)

Now in the galleries of his grace

Appears the King, and thus he says

“How fair my saints are in my sight!

My love how pleasant for delight!”

Kind is thy language, sovereign Lord

There’s heavenly grace in every word

From that dear mouth a stream divine

Flows sweeter than the choicest wine

Such wondrous love awakes the lip

Of saints that were almost asleep

To speak the praises of thy name

And makes our cold affections flame

These are the joys he lets us know

In fields and villages below

Gives us a relish of his love

Bu keeps his noblest feast above

In Paradise within the gates

A higher entertainment waits

Fruits new and old lay up in store

Where we shall feed, but thirst no more.

I want to know the love of Christ in a depth and vibrancy in which Watts walked and understood. I pray these words stir your affections for Jesus as they have mine today.

9 thoughts on “Hymn 77

  1. Zac Hicks says:

    Watts is the best! I could spend the rest of my life attempting to write new tunes to his great hymns. The church deserves a resurgence of his voice. Thanks for the good work you do, Matt, and thanks for attempting to bridge the gap between contemporary/modern worship and tradition, hymns, historical-rootedness, and theological depth.

  2. I think the admin of this web site is actually working hard in support of his
    website, for the reason that here every information is quality based data.

  3. I have been surfing online greater than 3 hours
    these days, yet I by no means found any interesting article like yours.
    It’s lovely price sufficient for me. In my view, if all website owners and bloggers made excellent content material as you probably did, the web will be a lot more useful than ever before.

  4. I was suggested this blog by way of my cousin. I’m not sure whether or not this submit is written by means of him as no one else recognise such unique approximately my trouble. You are incredible! Thank you!

  5. Oh my goodness! Awesome article dude! Many thanks, However I am encountering
    troubles with your RSS. I don’t understand the reason why I am unable to join it. Is there anyone else having identical RSS issues? Anyone who knows the solution can you kindly respond? Thanks!!

  6. Its like you read my thoughts! You appear to understand a lot about this, like you wrote the ebook in it or something.

    I think that you just can do with some p.c. to force the message house a bit, however
    instead of that, this is fantastic blog. A fantastic read.
    I’ll definitely be back.

  7. Everyone loves it whenever people get together and
    share views. Great blog, stick with it!

  8. After checking out a handful of the articles on your blog, I seriously appreciate your way of writing a blog.

    I added it to my bookmark website list and will be checking back soon.
    Please visit my website as well and let me know your opinion.

  9. website blog says:

    This is my first time pay a quick visit at here and i am
    really happy to read all at one place.

Leave a comment